Skip to content

The AutoPollen Programme started in 2018 under the auspices of the grouping of European meteorological services, EUMETNET, in response to the need for coordination of activities around automatic pollen monitoring. AutoPollen aims to grow the automatic monitoring network across the continent, covering all aspects of the information chain – from the initial measurement through to products and services co-designed with end-users.


The EUMETNET AutoPollen programme seeks to take full advantage of the large potential for progress that automatic pollen and fungal observations provide. It brings together a consortium from across Europe with the multidisciplinary expertise needed to address the challenges along the entire information chain – from the actual observation through to the final end-user defined product. The programme is particularly innovative in its cooperation and standardisation from-the-start approach. It also favours convergence with the aerosol and air quality monitoring communities, which should lead to improved service provision and additional savings.


AutoPollen includes a wide range of participants, from EUMETNET members to universities, research institutes, and patient organisations, reflecting the diverse landscape of institutes involved in pollen and fungal spore monitoring across Europe. The programme is coordinated by the Swiss Federal Office of Meteorology and Climatology MeteoSwiss.

  • ARSO, Slovenia
  • CHMI, Czech Republic
  • DHMZ, Croatia
  • DWD, Germany
  • FMI, Finland
  • HNMS, Greece
    in collaboration with Aristotle University of Thessaloniki
  • IMGW-PIB, Poland
  • IPMA, Portugal
  • Met Eireann, Ireland
  • MeteoLux, Luxemburg
  • MeteoSwiss, Switzerland
  • ZAMG, Austria
Third Parties:
  • AERONET, Turkey
  • Aarhus University, Denmark
  • ATMO, France
  • Bavarian State Office for Health and Food Safety, Germany
    in collaboration with Technische Universität München (TUM)
  • Biosense Institute Research, Serbia
  • European Aerobiology Society
  • European Federation of Allergy and Airways Diseases Patients’ Association
  • National Pirogov Memorial Medical University, Ukraine
  • Red Española de Aerobiología, Spain
  • RNSA, France
  • Sciensano, Belgium
  • Swedish Natural History Museum, Sweden
  • University of Latvia, Latvia
  • University of Salento, Italy
  • University of Worcester, UK
  • Vilnius University, Lithuania

Furthermore, the programme collaborates with several European-level projects and organisations, including: Horizon Europe Project SYLVA (A SYstem for ReaL-Time Observation of Aeroallergens), Copernicus Atmospheric Monitoring Services (CAMS), the COST Action ADOPT (New Approaches in Detection of Pathogens and Aeroallergens – CA18226), the European Academy of Allergology and Clinical Immunology (EAACI), and Working Group 39 of the European Normalisation Committee (CEN standard development).